2016 Award Winners – Updated

Congratulations to all the Award Winners at the Waverley Patchworkers Quilt Show.

Two awards were presented on Saturday, the third had to wait until Sunday when the winner was the show.

Marie Hart Award, named after our much loved Life Member who has worked tirelessly in all aspects of Waverley Patchworkers. Marie’s choice is to award a beginner quilter.



Marisol Gormaz “Childhood Memories

A collection of my son’s drawings made when a child. The back depicts memories of our special moments together: movies, sports, songs and laughter. A gift on his 21st birthday.


IMG_2951  IMG_2952

June Lyons Award, named in honour of a past President and influential teacher. The choice of the Quilt Show Committee and must be a quilt that has been sewn and quilted by hand or machine by one person.



Jennifer Lindton “Spearmint Ice-cream”

Based on Kaffe Fassett’e sampler quilt in Museum Quilts, I made a number of changes to the pattern. Top started in January 2008, finished in January 2010. Hand quilting finished in July 2015!



IMG_2953   IMG_2956

Dawn Burrows Award 
Selected by the current President and named after the founder and first President of Waverley Patchworkers.



Desley Maisano “Windmills of Your Mind

The quilt was pieced using Michelle Yeo’s Dahlia templates. I chose the fabrics using the centre fabric as inspiration.


IMG_2984    IMG_2988



About Waverley

Waverley Patchworkers Inc is a group of about 300 patchwork and quilting enthusiasts located in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. We meet regularly to share our passion for all things textile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2016 Award Winners – Updated

  1. Susan says:

    I’d love to know who won the challenge and the viewers’ choice.
    There was such a wonderful breadth as well as depth of superb work on display.

  2. Yvonne Maher says:

    I loved the show but would also like to know who won the challenge (so hard to choose just one to vote for) and also the viewers choice.

  3. Waverley says:

    It was obviously hard to choose as voting was close, the Viewers Choice and Challenge winners are in the post “Viewers’ Choice, Challenge and Raffle Winners”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *